University of Cambridge - Department of Earth Sciences

The Department of Earth Sciences is a vibrant environment for both research and teaching. The teaching effort is concentrated in the four years of the Cambridge science degree, the Natural Sciences Tripos. This scheme provides a broad foundation of three sciences plus Maths in the first year, focuses within several science areas in the second year, then specializes in one area in the third year and the optional but popular fourth year.

As a large, integrated department the expertise and current research of the staff in Cambridge spans many areas of the Earth Sciences. Many research questions can only be answered when scientists from several disciplines enter into dialogue. Such interdisciplinary collaboration can result in innovative solutions to seemingly insoluble problems, and open new and exciting avenues of inquiry.

◾Climate Change and Earth-Ocean Atmosphere Systems
◾Geodynamics, Geophysics and Tectonics
◾Mineral Sciences
◾Petrology: Igneous, Metamorphic and Volcanic Studies
◾Research Groups, Institutes and Projects
◾Research Facilities

There are several research institutes within the University that draw their staff either partly or completely from the Earth Sciences department. There are also a number of projects which operate in collaboration either with partners in industry or from several other research bodies.